National Mission on Interdisciplinary Cyber-Physical Systems (NM-ICPS), launched by Department of Science & Technology (DST), aims to create a strong foundation and seamless ecosystem for CPS technologies by coordinating and encompassing:

  • Knowledge generation  
  • Human resource development
  • Research 
  • Technology and product development 
  • Innovation  
  • Commercialization 

The first phase of NM-ICPS will focus on establishing Technology Innovation Hubs (TIHs). TIHs will be the nodal centers spearheading the activities in a specific domain. With leading-edge knowledge, competency and facilities, the hubs will attract potential and harness expertise available nationwide, thus fostering research innovation, world class technology and product development. TIHs will be working in close collaboration with industry to deliver commercial technology and products and build a vibrant innovation ecosystem by providing a reliable platform for technology-based startups and entrepreneurs. 


While the first computer revolution was triggered by development in hardware, the second revolution will be based on data. Data is going to be the new oil and new electricity. Sophisticated AI algorithms for various fields, based on ML need reliable and abundant data.

The Hub at IIIT Hyderabad proposes to take some significant steps towards realizing these promises in partnership with others. There is a tremendous scope for building large teams spanning multiple institutions in the country to realize the benefits of studying and researching data. The institute has significant research, education, product development, and outreach activities in related areas including Data Science, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing, Speech Processing, Computer Vision, Robotics, Speech Processing, and Cognitive Sciences.


Hub Governing Board

  • P.J. Narayanan, Director IIITH, Chair
  • K.R.Murali Mohan, Mission Director, DST
  • B. Ravindran, IITM, Member
  • Nivruti Rai, Intel, Member
  • C.V.Jawahar, IIITH, Member
  • Ramesh Loganathan, IIITH, Member
  • U. Deva Priyakumar, Academic Head, IHub-Data, Member Secretary